A Dream Holiday To Lake Garda!

It’s strange how all we want to do when the British weather finally improves is go abroad isn’t it? Those warm mornings, eating alfresco, they just make me want to get on a plane and enjoy what other countries can offer instead! Typically you’ll return to drizzly cold weather but full of wonderful memories and hopefully feeling much more relaxed. We’ve had nothing but bad luck going away and this prize would make a nice change. 

The answer to my prayers came in the form of this feature on http://www.tots100.co.uk and can be found here: http://www.tots100.co.uk/2014/05/28/win-a-trip-with-al-fresco-holidays-and-tots100-during-the-world-cup/

So, This is my entry to the Al Fresco Holidays and Tots100 World Cup challenge!

Since having our daughter three years ago the most we’ve managed is a weekend break to Budapest over the Winter and although it was cultural and interesting, it wasn’t a real family holiday, which is what we as a family are longing for. We missed our flights by 4 minutes and weren’t allowed on. We had no choice but to put it on a credit card and get the next flight as my husband’s family were all there already, waiting for us to celebrate HIS 40th birthday! 

Before this getaway, we had our honeymoon in 2010. 

How I wish I’d chosen Lake Garda! I’d never booked a holiday before and as my husband said he wanted to experience Italy, I booked a villa in Sardinia. We arrived in the middle of the night, still trying to get used to driving on the other side of the road. We drove around for hours trying to find this villa and many times we pulled over, turned around and tried again along the same road. We finally found it and just zonked out straight away. Only when the morning came did we realise that they little ‘lay by’ in the road was actually the edge of a very steep, very tall mountain with the sea beneath it. I still shudder when I think what could’ve happened! This was the first of many surprises. The place was deserted. It was Easter and everyone had shut shop. The nearest shop was actually a half hour drive away. We spent most evenings playing cards with the portable radio on to try and bring some life to the room. It approached the end of the honeymoon when the radio told us that there’d been a volcano eruption in Iceland. There were no flights home. We were stranded for nearly a month. Again, the ol’ credit card came in handy while we travelled from pillar to post trying to find some way home and staying in miserable B&B’s in the middle of nowhere.

Nine months later our daughter was born. So I guess something good came from it! (Well, we were pretty bored of playing cards after a while!)

I did pick up on the warmth of the Italian people though. I loved the way they took so much pride in their culture. All the little trattoria’s that cooked fresh Italian food, the way everyone got together in the evening in the local square to have a chat and a drink, the fashion, the shops and the music..I fell in love with the place. I remember one evening, thinking I was witnessing what I thought was a terrible family argument and telling my husband we should leave the restaurant and give them some space, when he told me that no, they were actually just talking! haha! I guess maybe they’re just more passionate!

I’d love to go back under more relaxed circumstances with the children this time and really enjoy all the facilities that the resort has to offer. Our son is 14 and football mad so he’d be in football heaven while the World Cup was on. I can imagine the atmosphere would be electric. Even though I’m not a football fan I think I’d get in to it too while I was there as the excitement would be all around us. Our daughter would love the pool more than anything else as she’s really keen on ‘swimming’ – she thinks she can swim but we have to remind her that she can’t yet but maybe this is the place she will learn!

Let’s hope we have some luck this time with the competition and if you’re interested in a stress free holiday, visit http://www.alfresco-holidays.com/

 

Leave a Reply

