The title was taken from the great Ronnie Barker’s ‘hit’ song, I’ve got bad habits. Seriously though, who doesn’t have bad habits? Whether it’s that you’re constantly late for everything or a secret smoker, or you have a little bit too much wine on a work night. The excuse often heard is ‘well, I always do it, that’s just me’! is an easy way of dismissing it and not having to worry about what these bad habits can actually do to you in the long run.

If you think you’re always late for things, then you probably will be, it’s as though you’re expecting it to happen before it’s even happened.  If you have a bit too much wine you think, well, I got through it before feeling rough the next day so I can do it again, right?

Why do this to yourself! Ok it’s easier said than done but I speak from experience here. I gave up drinking. I wasn’t a heavy drinker but it was becoming a little too regular for my liking and I hated how it made me feel in the morning. I’m naturally a morning person and as I saw this side of me dwindling away I realised how much I actually didn’t enjoy drinking at all. The day I gave up I felt happy. I was actually on holiday and decided I’d rather wake up early and take a walk on the beach before breakfast. It felt amazing! No tiredness, no groggy sick feeling. The next day I felt even more energetic. I didn’t need to find things to fill in the space. I felt in control and had more money.

4 years later and I don’t miss it one bit. Even the smell of the stuff makes me feel unwell. It’s not like I’m scared of the stuff.. I did try a little champagne at my friend’s baby’s Christening last week. It made me feel AWFUL! I had to go to bed for an hour to recover. Amazing how much it can affect you after so long without it in your system.

I still have habits of course..there’s no getting rid of all of them. This is just an example of one I was able to kick!

and remember..as Benjamin Franklin once said :

“It’s easier to prevent bad habits than to break them” 

This post is my entry into the Bobatoo.co.uk ‘Bad Habits’ blog competition – find out more here: http://www.bobatoo.co.uk/blog/bobatoo-bad-habits-blog-competition/

 

Leave a Reply

